
You must obtain the appropriate pharmacy technician license from the Virgin Islands Board of Pharmacy before commencing duties. The Board provides four categories: Pharmacy Technician Trainee (PTT), Registered Pharmacy Technician (RPT), Certified Pharmacy Technician (CPT), and Certified Pharmacy Technician with Immunization (CPTI). The Board’s published materials do not say that submitting an application authorizes you to begin working, so applicants should wait for Board approval.
The PTT category allows an individual to work and train before qualifying for one of the higher technician credentials. The Board’s current application does not state a maximum trainee period, required number of training hours, or deadline for advancing to another category.
RPT is the standard non-nationally certified credential. The Board’s application does not require applicants selecting this category to submit proof of PTCB or NHA certification.
The CPT category is for technicians holding national certification. Applicants must attach proof of current PTCB or NHA certification.
The CPTI category is the Board’s immunization credential for nationally certified technicians. The published application requires proof of PTCB or NHA certification and a current Basic Life Support certificate.
The current Board application and pharmacy technician materials do not state a minimum age for any of the four licensing categories. Applicants should confirm the applicable age requirement directly with the Board.
The Board’s current application does not list a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent education requirement. Employers, training programs, and national certification organizations may establish their own education requirements.
The publicly available application does not prescribe a training program or fixed number of training hours for PTT or RPT applicants. Technicians seeking PTCB or NHA certification must separately satisfy the eligibility and training requirements of the applicable national organization.
PTCB or NHA certification is not required for the PTT or RPT categories. It is required for the CPT and CPTI categories, and proof of certification must accompany the application.
Under Act No. 9074 of 2026, which amended Title 27, Virgin Islands Code § 221, every initial applicant for a pharmacy technician license must complete a fingerprint-based territorial and FBI national criminal-history background check. Fingerprints are initially submitted through the Virgin Islands Police Department and then forwarded to the FBI.
Applicants use the pharmacy technician initial/renewal form published by the Virgin Islands Board of Pharmacy. The completed form is emailed to boardofpharmacy@doh.vi.gov, and credit-card payments can be made through the Virgin Islands Department of Health’s Licensure and Health Planning Payment Form.
The Board’s published initial fees are $0 for PTT, $50 for RPT, $75 for CPT, and $100 for CPTI.
The Board uses the same form and fee schedule for initial applications and renewals. However, the form currently linked on the Board’s website is labeled 2024–2025 and does not clearly state the renewal frequency or current expiration deadline. Licensees should confirm the applicable renewal date with the Board before relying on the older form.
The published renewal fees are the same as the initial fees: $0 for PTT, $50 for RPT, $75 for CPT, and $100 for CPTI.
The Board currently offers a Certified Pharmacy Technician with Immunization credential and requires applicants to submit PTCB or NHA certification and a BLS certificate. However, the publicly available application does not provide the complete immunization-training standard, permitted vaccines, patient age limits, or governing law. In addition, Virgin Islands Code Title 27 § 153a states that a pharmacist’s immunization authority may be delegated only to a registered pharmacy intern. Because the published application and territorial statute do not align clearly, a CPTI should obtain current written direction from the Board before administering vaccines.


Territorial CE requirement: The Board’s current pharmacy technician application and technician webpage do not establish a fixed number of continuing-education hours for renewing a PTT or RPT license.

National certification CE: CPT and CPTI licensees must maintain the national certification supporting their credential. PTCB and NHA generally require 20 CE hours every two years, including at least 1 hour of pharmacy law and 1 hour of patient safety.

Immunization CE: The Board’s publicly available CPTI application does not state a separate vaccination-related CE requirement. CPTI licensees should obtain the current requirements directly from the Board before renewing or continuing vaccine-administration activities.

The state requirements guide has been researched and verified against Virgin Islands State Board of Pharmacy and published guidance, as well as state legislation and other official regulatory sources. Every effort has been made to ensure that the information is accurate and up-to-date at the time of publication. However, pharmacy technician state requirements can change, and regulatory information may be updated without notice. This page is provided for informational and educational purposes only and should not be considered legal or regulatory advice.
This guide has been manually verified against Board of Pharmacy rules, state laws & latest guidance.
