Vermont

Pharmacy technicians are regulated by the Vermont State Board of Pharmacy.

National certification with either the PTCB or ExCPT is currently not required, though these exams are considered highly desirable by employers.

Technicians must register before practicing. Training will either be provided on-the-job under the supervision of a pharmacist or you may be asked by the employer to undertake national certification.

Competition for pharmacy technician roles in Vermont is currently high.

Vermont State Requirements

To obtain a pharmacy technician license in Vermont, the State Board has issued their own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:

  • Candidates must be 18-years or older.
  • Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED and must be proficient in the English language.
  • Candidates must apply to the Vermont State Board of Pharmacy and pay the requisite non-refundable fee of $50.00. Formal education is not required by the State Board.
  • Continuing education is not required.
  • Licenses must be renewed every 2-years.

Vermont Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $14.90hr

PTCB Requirements for Vermont Pharmacy Techs

The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who wish to become pharmacy technicians in Vermont:

  • Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
  • Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
  • Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
  • Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
  • Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard fee is $129.00, though, due to COVID-19, this has been reduced to $115.00.

Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education

To maintain the pharmacy tech license in Vermont, candidates must complete CE – or continuous education.

PTCB requires:

  • Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.
  • Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.
  • PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.
  • Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.

Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in Vermont is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at support@ptcbtestprep.com and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.