Pharmacy technicians are regulated in North Dakota.
To practice as a pharmacy technician, PTCB certification is mandatory.
Candidates may register to the State Board of Pharmacy if they have completed State approved education or training, completed the PTCB exam, or who have opted for the pharmacy technician-in-training program.
Competition for pharmacy technician places within North Dakota is currently high.
North Dakota State Requirements
To obtain a pharmacy technician license in North Dakota, the State Board has issued their own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:
- Candidates must be 18-years or older.
- Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED and must be proficient in the English language.
- Candidates may be expected to undergo a criminal background check, including having fingerprints taken. Candidates must not have had a history of drug-related crimes.
- Candidates are required to pass the PTCB exam.
- Candidates must apply to the North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy and pay the non-refundable $35.00 fee. Include a passport photo with your application; and application must be notarized.
- Candidates typically complete training under the supervision of a qualified, licensed pharmacist. Candidates must complete a training program under the supervision of the employer’s pharmacist.
- Continuing education is required by the State Board of Pharmacy but is also required to maintain PTCB national certification (see below). After the first year of renewal, CE is not required. Each renewal thereafter, technicians must complete 10-hours of CE.
- Licenses are renewed annually. The renewal fee is $35.00.
North Dakota Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $16.20/hr
PTCB Requirements for North Dakota Pharmacy Techs
The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who wish to become pharmacy technicians in North Dakota:
- Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
- Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
- Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
- Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
- Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard fee is $129.00, though, due to COVID-19, this has been reduced to $115.00.
Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education
To maintain the pharmacy tech license in North Dakota, candidates must complete CE – or continuous education.
- Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.
- Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.
- PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.
- Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.
Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in North Dakota is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.