fbpx

Like most states, pharmacy technicians are regulated in Missouri. Certification is not needed to practice as a pharmacy technician. Neither does the Missouri State Board of Pharmacy recognize any exams either, including the PTCB test.

To become a licensed pharmacy technician in Missouri, candidates must undergo a thorough criminal background check, apply and pay the necessary fee, and ensure that the form is notarized and includes a passport-style photo. Technicians in Missouri are not required to undergo continuous education either. Competition for places within Missouri are currently high. Even though candidates are not required to pass the PTCB exam, holding certification enhances career opportunities and salary prospects.

Missouri State Requirements

To obtain a pharmacy tech license in Missouri, the State Board has issued their
own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:

  • Candidates must be 18-years or older.
  • Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED.
  • Candidates are expected to undergo a criminal background check, including having fingerprints taken.
  • Candidates are required to understand state-specific legislation surrounding the safe use and dispensing of medicines to patients.
  • Include a passport photo with your application; and application must be notarized.
  • Renewal fee: $35.00
  • License renewals with the State Board of Pharmacy are required on an annual basis.
  • Continuous education is not required by the Missouri State Board of Pharmacy.

Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in Missouri is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at support@ptcbtestprep.com and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.

Missouri Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $13.56/hr

PTCB Requirements for Missouri Pharmacy Techs

The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who
wish to become pharmacy technicians in Missouri:

  • Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
  • Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
  • Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
  • Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
  • Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard PTCB exam fee is $129.00.

Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education

To maintain the pharmacy tech license in Missouri, candidates must
complete CE – or continuous education.

PTCB requires:

Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.

PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.

Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.

Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.

Study and Pass the
2022 Missouri PTCB Exam

Exclusive features, study guides, practice questions, flashcards, mock exams, top 200 drugs, pharmacy calculations and much more to guarantee your success at the 2022 Missouri PTCB exam.

Get Certified