Massachusetts

Pharmacy technicians are regulated in Massachusetts and, to become licensed and qualified, the candidate must complete 500-hours of pharmacy technician employment or complete the PTCB or ExCPT exam. Once complete, an application, with evidence of exam success, must be sent to the Massachusetts State Board of Pharmacy.

Candidates who are not trained through either of these exams must complete the State Board of Pharmacy’s training program before submitting their application for a license. Continuing education is not required for candidates who have passed their PTCB examination.

Massachusetts State Requirements

To register as a pharmacy technician in Massachusetts, the State Board has issued their own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:

  • Candidates must be 18-years or older.
  • Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED.
  • Candidates are expected to undergo a criminal background check – which costs around $38.00.
  • Complete either 500 hours of practice or pass a licensed exam.
  • Non-refundable application fee: $136.00
  • Annual renewal fee: $51.00
  • Licenses must be renewed every 2-years.

Massachusetts Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $17.73/hr

PTCB Requirements for Massachusetts Pharmacy Techs

The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who wish to become pharmacy technicians in Massachusetts:

  • Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
  • Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
  • Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
  • Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
  • Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard fee is $129.00, though, due to COVID-19, this has been reduced to $115.00.

Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education

To maintain the pharmacy tech license in Massachusetts, candidates must complete CE – or continuous education.

PTCB requires:

  • Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.
  • Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.
  • PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.
  • Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.

Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in Massachusetts is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at support@ptcbtestprep.com and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.