Pharmacy technicians are regulated in Maine – with two types of technician recognized.

These include the Pharmacy Technician and the Pharmacy Technician Advanced. Pharmacy Technicians Advanced must be certified, whereas pharmacy technicians do not. Pharmacy technicians advanced must pass the PTCB examination and obtain their licensed from the Maine State Board of Pharmacy. Below, we review more of the Maine state requirements to become a qualified technician in this state.

Maine State Requirements

To obtain a pharmacy tech license in Maine, the State Board has issued their
own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:

  • Candidates must be 18-years or older.
  • Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED.
  • Candidates are expected to undergo a criminal background check – which costs $21.00
  • Complete 600-hours of practical experience with a licensed pharmacist.
  • Pass the PTCB examination.
  • From date of registration, candidates have up to 18-months to complete this exam.
  • Non-refundable application fee: $25.00
  • Annual renewal fee: $25.00
  • To maintain the license, pharmacy technicians advanced must complete continuous education.

Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in Maine is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at support@ptcbtestprep.com and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.

Maine Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $13.85/hr

PTCB Requirements for Maine Pharmacy Techs

The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who
wish to become pharmacy technicians in Maine:

  • Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
  • Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
  • Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
  • Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
  • Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard PTCB exam fee is $129.00.

Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education

To maintain the pharmacy tech license in Maine, candidates must
complete CE – or continuous education.

PTCB requires:

Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.

PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.

Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.

Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.

Study and Pass the Maine PTCB Exam

Exclusive features, study guides, practice questions, flashcards, mock exams, top 200 drugs, pharmacy calculations and much more to guarantee your success at the Maine PTCB exam.

Get Certified