Kentucky

Certification is not required in Kentucky, although working as a pharmacy technician in the state is regulated.

Candidates who do have PTCB certification will be assigned greater responsibility and tasks by the supervising pharmacist – improving career prospects and salary expectations.

Registration to the Kentucky State Board of Pharmacy should be done within 30-days upon receiving employment.

Kentucky State Requirements

To register as a pharmacy technician in Kentucky, the State Board has issued their own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:

  • Candidates must be 16-years or older.
  • Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED.
  • Candidates are expected to undergo a criminal background check.
  • The renewal fee every year for the license is $25.00.
  • Non-refundable application fee: $25.00
  • Candidates are not required to undergo continuous education.

Kentucky Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $14.51/hr

PTCB Requirements for Kentucky Pharmacy Techs

The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who wish to become pharmacy technicians in Kentucky:

  • Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
  • Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
  • Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
  • Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
  • Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard fee is $129.00, though, due to COVID-19, this has been reduced to $115.00.

Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education

To maintain the pharmacy tech license in Kentucky, candidates must complete CE – or continuous education.

PTCB requires:

  • Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.
  • Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.
  • PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.
  • Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.

Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in Kentucky is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at support@ptcbtestprep.com and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.