Georgia

In Georgia, pharmacy technicians are not obliged to have completed a course. Nor are they required to register or obtain a license. Instead, training can be done in-house, under the supervision of a qualified and licensed pharmacist.

Candidates must be a high school graduate and they must be 17-years old. Even though the PTCB exam does not need to be completed, there is a growing demand for pharmacy technicians in Georgia and holding PTCB certification enhances career and salary prospects.

As part of the PTCB exam, pharmacy tech students will learn about Medications, Order Entry and Processing, Federal Requirements, and Patient Safety and Quality Assurance.

Georgia State Requirements

To obtain a pharmacy tech license in Georgia, the State Board has issued their own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:

  • Candidates must be 17-years or older.
  • Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED.
  • Candidates are expected to undergo a thorough criminal background check.
  • PTCB certification is NOT required to practice in the state of Georgia. Instead, candidates can train under the supervision of a qualified pharmacist.

Georgia Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $15.04/hr

PTCB Requirements for Georgia Pharmacy Techs

The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who wish to become pharmacy technicians in Georgia:

  • Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
  • Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
  • Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
  • Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
  • Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard fee is $129.00, though, due to COVID-19, this has been reduced to $115.00.

Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education

To maintain the pharmacy tech license in Georgia, candidates must complete CE – or continuous education.

PTCB requires:

  • Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.
  • Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.
  • PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.
  • Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.

Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in Georgia is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at support@ptcbtestprep.com and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.