Compared to other states in the United States, Florida has the highest degree of regulation of pharmacy technicians. Upon beginning to work in a pharmacy, your employer will require you to obtain training by completing the official PTCB exam.
Candidates must register with the Florida State Board of Pharmacy and complete a board-approved training course. The 2020 PTCB exam has four key elements including Medications, Patient Safety and Quality Assurance, Federal Requirements, and Order Entry and Processing. These are the four key skills that pharmacy technicians are expected to demonstrate when they work in pharmacies.
Florida State Requirements
To obtain a pharmacy tech license in Florida, the State Board has issued their own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:
- Candidates must be 17-years or older.
- Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED.
- Candidates are expected to undergo a thorough criminal background check.
- Candidates must pay the mandatory application fee of $60.00 and submit their notarized application.
- PTCB certification is NOT required to practice in the state of Florida. However, certification improves employment prospects and salary.
- To obtain the Florida pharmacy tech license, candidates must have completed a State Board-approved course within 6-months of registration. Furthermore, candidates must submit evidence to this effect within 10-days of completing the course. Both the candidate and the pharmacy must keep records for at least 2-years.
Florida Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $15.56/hr
PTCB Requirements for Florida Pharmacy Techs
The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who wish to become pharmacy technicians in Florida:
- Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
- Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
- Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
- Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
- Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard fee is $129.00, though, due to COVID-19, this has been reduced to $115.00.
Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education
To maintain the pharmacy tech license in Florida, candidates must complete CE – or continuous education.
- Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.
- Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.
- PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.
- Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.
Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in Florida is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.