fbpx

Pharmacy technicians are in great demand throughout the country, but particularly in Connecticut where there has been significant growth in recent years.

Candidates who wish to obtain their pharmacy tech license in Connecticut are expected to take the PTCB exam. Many employers now expect candidates to have either passed this exam or are on the way toward preparing for the exam. The Connecticut Board of Pharmacy enshrines that for every three technicians per one pharmacist in the pharmacy, at least one of these must be PTCB certified. Below, we review the requirements on how candidates can obtain their Connecticut pharmacy tech license.

Connecticut State Requirements

To obtain a pharmacy tech license in Connecticut, the State Board has issued their
own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:

  • Candidates must be 18-years or older.
  • Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED.
  • Candidates are expected to undergo a thorough criminal background check.
  • Candidates must complete the application process and submit a $100.00 fee to the state treasurer.
  • Candidates must study and pass the PTCB examination.

Connecticut Continuing Education Requirements

  • Pharmacy technicians must undergo continuous education every 2-years and pay the requisite fee.

Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in Connecticut is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at support@ptcbtestprep.com and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.

Connecticut Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $22.07/hr

PTCB Requirements for Connecticut Pharmacy Techs

The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who
wish to become pharmacy technicians in Connecticut:

  • Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
  • Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
  • Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
  • Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
  • Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard PTCB exam fee is $129.00.

Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education

To maintain the pharmacy tech license in Connecticut, candidates must
complete CE – or continuous education.

PTCB requires:

Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.

PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.

Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.

Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.

Study and Pass the
2022 Connecticut PTCB Exam

Exclusive features, study guides, practice questions, flashcards, mock exams, top 200 drugs, pharmacy calculations and much more to guarantee your success at the 2022 Connecticut PTCB exam.

Get Certified