California

There are over 36,000 pharmacy technicians in California. It is one of the most sought-after positions and demand for the healthcare role remains high.

To prepare for the PTCB exam and receive a pharmacy tech license, candidates must first register with the Arkansas Board of Pharmacy. Candidates are required to pay the mandatory application fee and submit all required documents to the state board.

There are different ways to obtain a pharmacy tech license in California. Here, we review one of the most common paths. Candidates should complete a recognized PTCB course before taking their PTCB examination.

The new 2020 syllabus focusses on four key subject areas, including:

  • Medications
  • Federal requirements
  • Patient safety and quality assurance
  • Order entry and processing

Candidates that have completed their course and submitted the requisite application forms and mandatory fees, may then obtain their pharmacy tech license, and can begin to practice in the pharmacy setting.

California State Requirements

To obtain a pharmacy tech license in California, the State Board has issued their own requirements for candidates to meet. These include:

  • Candidates must be 18-years or older.
  • Candidates must have earned a high school diploma or GED.
  • Candidates must have a valid social security number (SSN).
  • Candidates are expected to undergo a thorough criminal background check – including fingerprint evaluation.
  • Candidates must pay the mandatory application fee of $105.00 and submit their notarized application.
  • PTCB certification is required and candidates must sign a notarized copy and submit it with their application. A passport photo should also be included in your pharmacy tech license application.

California Continuing Education Requirements

  • Pharmacy technicians are not required to undergo mandatory continuous education to maintain their pharmacy technician license but they must pay a biannual fee of $130.00.

California Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $22.07/hr

PTCB Requirements for California Pharmacy Techs

The following requirements have been issued by the PTCB for candidates who wish to become pharmacy technicians in California:

  • Candidates must be at least 18-years old.
  • Candidates must have earned a GED or high school diploma.
  • Candidates must have a clean criminal record – with no felonies.
  • Candidates must have completed a recognized PTCB course.
  • Candidates must register and complete the application from on the official PTCB website. The standard fee is $129.00, though, due to COVID-19, this has been reduced to $115.00.

Requirements for PTCB Continuous Education

To maintain the pharmacy tech license in California, candidates must complete CE – or continuous education.

PTCB requires:

  • Candidates must have completed at least 20-hours of CE in a 2-year cycle.
  • Candidates must have completed at least 1-hour of this training in pharmacy law and regulations, and an additional hour in patient safety.
  • PTCB requires that CE must be related to the professional work and practice of a pharmacy technician.
  • Candidates must pay the requisite fee of $40.00, which must be paid every 2-years.

Competition for pharmacy technicians in California is currently high. Candidates are recommended to perform well on their PTCB exam to ensure they obtain their California pharmacy tech license and maximize their opportunity of securing a high-paying position.

Please Note – PTCB Test Prep does its best to ensure that all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in California is accurate and up to date. However, whilst we do our best to ensure that our details are as accurate as possible, at the time of writing, we do expect candidates to follow up with their State Board for any of the latest information that may have come to pass. If you notice any out-of-date details on this summary, please email us at support@ptcbtestprep.com and we will review any issues brought to our attention and rectify any issues as soon as practicable.